Print Print This Page

Additional Information

  • Revised: November 21, 2014
  • Content last reviewed: November 2014

This guide is provided for your information and convenience only. It is not a legal document. For complete information, refer to the Employment Standards Act, 2000 and its regulations.

Employee Discounts

Discounts are not covered by the Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA). The employer is responsible for deciding whether employees get a discount on products the employer makes or sells, or on services the employer provides. However, if there is a discount, the employer is the one who determines how much the discount will be.

Dress Codes

Generally, the employer is responsible for making decisions about dress codes, uniforms and other clothing requirements--and about who pays for them.

An employer may make a deduction from wages to cover the cost of a uniform or other clothing requirements with the signed, specific written authorization from the employee permitting the deduction and setting out the amount of the deduction.

A dress code cannot violate a collective agreement at the workplace, the Human Rights Code or the Occupational Health and Safety Act.

Paid Sick Leave and Bereavement Leave

Some employers have paid plans for sickness, bereavement and other leaves of absence. Payment for such leaves is not required by the ESA. Whether a leave is paid is a decision for the employer or a matter for negotiation between the employer and the employee or, if the employee is represented by a union, between the employer and the union. However, the rules about discrimination in benefit plans will apply to paid leave plans. (See “"Benefit Plans,” for details.)

Previous | Next

ISBN 978-1-4606-4790-5 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-4791-2 (PDF)

Table des matières | Imprimer Imprimer cette page

Renseignements supplémentaires

  • Révision : 21 novembre 2014
  • Dernière mise à jour : novembre 2014

Ce guide ne vous est fourni qu’à titre indicatif. Il ne constitue pas un document juridique. Pour obtenir des renseignements complets, consultez la Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi et ses règlements.

Remises aux employés

La Loi de 2000 sur les normes d'emploi (la Loi) ne traite pas des remises. Il incombe à l’employeur de décider s’il accordera ou non une remise à l’employé sur les produits qu’il fabrique ou vend ou sur les services qu’il offre. Cependant, si une remise est accordée, c’est l’employeur qui en détermine le montant.

Codes vestimentaires

En général, l’employeur est responsable d’établir tout code vestimentaire et d’exiger le port d’un uniforme ou d’autres vêtements. Il lui incombe également de décider qui assumera cette dépense.

L’employeur peut déduire du salaire de l’employé le coût d’un uniforme ou d’autres vêtements après avoir obtenu son autorisation écrite et avoir convenu avec lui du montant de cette déduction.

Un code vestimentaire ne peut cependant pas contrevenir à une convention collective, au Code des droits de la personne ou à la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail.

Congés de maladie et congés de deuil payés

Certains employeurs offrent à leurs employés des régimes d’avantages sociaux payés prévoyant des congés de maladie, des congés de deuil et d’autres types de congé. Ces congés ne sont toutefois pas des congés payés en vertu de la Loi. Les congés payés sont déterminés par l’employeur ou négociés entre l’employeur et l’employé ou, si celui-ci est représenté par un syndicat, entre l’employeur et le syndicat. Cependant, les dispositions de la Loi interdisant la discrimination en ce qui touche les régimes d’avantages sociaux s’appliquent aux congés payés. (Consultez la section intitulée « Régimes d’avantages sociaux »).

précédent | suivant

ISBN 978-1-4606-4793-6 (HTML)
ISBN 978-1-4606-4792-9 (PDF)